Jeff Greinke is a musician, composer, performer, sound sculptor, and visual artist who is known worldwide for his unique sound. Through a highly developed process of layering, Jeff composes and performs music rich in texture, depth, mood, and subtle detail. Using various acoustic and electronic instruments, found sounds, and extended studio techniques, Jeff sculpts sound worlds that conjure a strong sense of place, hovering somewhere between the exotic and the familiar.

Jeff Greinke began composing and performing music in 1980 while studying meteorology at Pennsylvania State University. After moving to Seattle in 1982, Jeff formed the production company and recording label, INTREPID, through which he produced his first LP, Cities in Fog. He has since released twenty other recordings on various U.S. and European labels. His most recent work is entitled Weather from Another Planet, released in June 2003 on FWD, a label and distribution network he co-owns with three other musicians. Jeff's music can also be heard on numerous compilation recordings. He has composed music for film, video, dance, theatre, radio, and art installations. His music was used as the soundtrack for the trailer of Ron Howard's film The Missing. Jeff has toured extensively throughout the United States and Europe and has performed in China, Canada, and Mexico. He has also been a member of numerous ensembles and is founder of the group LAND, featuring Lesli Dalaba (trumpet), Dennis Rea (guitar), Bill Rieflin (drums), and Fred Chalenor (bass). LAND toured China in 1996, which included playing the prestigious Beijing International Jazz Festival. They have released three albums. Jeff's current ongoing project is a collaboration with former Sky Cries Mary vocalist Anisa Romero called Hana. In April 2001 they released their second album entitled Omen. Jeff currently resides in Tucson Arizona with his wife Isabel Amorous.


Before the Storm / 1984 / Intrepid Cities in Fog / 1985 / Intrepid
Over Ruins / 1986 / Intrepid
Places of Motility / 1987 / Dossier
Moving Climates / 1987 / Intrepid
Timbral Planes / 1988 /
Changing Skies / 1990/ Multimood
Lost Terrain / 1992/ Silent
In Another Place / 1993/ Linden
Timbral Planes / 1994/ Linden
Big Weather / 1994/ Linden
Over Ruins/Moving Climates / 1997 /
Cities in Fog (special edition) / 1998 / Projekt/Relic
Swimming / 1998 / Prudence (Germany)
Places of Motility (remastered w/ bonus tracks) / 1998 / Hypnos
Ride / 1999 / FWD
Lost Terrain (remastered) / 1999 / Hypnos
Over Ruins/Moving Climates / 2000 / Projekt/Relic
Wide View / 2002 / Hypnos
Weather From Another Planet / 2003 / FWD

Discography: Music by Jeff Greinke 1